Data Science for Signals and Systems Certificate
Graduate Program at Colorado School of Mines

Data Science for Signals and Systems Certificate
Graduate Program at Colorado School of Mines

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

The graduate certificate program in Data Science for Signals and Systems trains recent graduates or mid-career professionals with a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering or a related field in mathematical and algorithmic aspects of data science relevant to handling the signals and data processed and generated by modern physical and electrical systems.

Request for additional information

Fill out this form to receive more information about this exciting program. 

Loading...

Requirements and Costs

  • A completed bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering or related field from an accredited institution
  • Statement of goals/purpose: share your professional, academic and personal goals and why you believe Colorado School of Mines is the best place to achieve those goals
  • Resume or Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • For international applicants or applicants whose native language is not English, please review the English Proficiency requirement

For additional information about these admissions requirements, please refer to the Admissions Requirements page

Note: A Graduate Record Examination (GRE) is not required for admission into the Data Science for Signals Systems program.

Students must complete 12 hours of coursework as follows:

Required Courses:

  • EENG 415: Data Science for Electrical Engineering, 3.0
  • EENG 515: Mathematical Methods for Signals and Systems, 3.0

Choose 2 out of 5:

  • EENG 509: Sparse Signal Processing, 3.0
  • EENG 511: Convex Optimization and Its Engineering Applications, 3.0
  • EENG 519: Estimation Theory and Kalman Filtering, 3.0
  • EENG 521: Numerical Optimization, 3.0
  • EENG 586: Communication Networks for Power Systems
Credit HoursResident Student1
Tuition and Fees
Non-Resident Student
Tuition and Fees
1.0$1,258$2,442
1.5$1,735$3,511
2.0$2,211$4,579
2.5$2,688$5,648
3.0$3,469$7,021
3.5$3,946$8,090
4.0$4,422$9,158
4.5$4,899$10,227
5.0$5,375$11,295
5.5$5,852$12,364
6.0$6,907$14,011
6.5$7,384$15,080
7.0$7,860$16,148
7.5$8,337$17,217
8.0$8,813$18,285
8.5$9,290$19,354
9.0-15.0$9,766$20,422
>15.0$8,577 + ($953 x each credit hour over 19 hours) + $1,189 mandatory fees$19,233 + ($2,137 x each credit hour over 19 hours) + $1,189 mandatory fees

1 Resident tuition rates only apply to students who meet guidelines as established under Colorado Residency Statutes (23-7-101 Legislative Declaration).

Peter Aaen

Peter Aaen

Rank - Professor and Department Head

Email - mailto:paaen@mines.edu

Phone - 303-384-2245

Abd Arkadan

Abd Arkadan

Rank - Teaching Professor

Email - aaarkadan@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3742

Chris Coulston

Chris Coulston

Rank - Teaching Professor

Email - coulston@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3265

Vibhuti Dave

Vibhuti Dave

Rank - Teaching Professor

Email - vdave@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3670

Mohamad El Hariri

Mohamad El Hariri

Rank - Assistant Professor

Email - melhariri@mines.edu

Phone - 303-384-2350

Mona Elhelbawy

Mona Elhelbawy

Rank - Teaching Associate Professor

Email - melhelbawy@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3673

Atef Elsherbeni

Atef Elsherbeni

Rank - Professor and Dobelman Distinguished Chair

Email - aelsherb@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3667

Mohammed Hadi

Mohammed Hadi

Rank - Research Professor

Email - mhadi@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-8224

Randy Haupt

Randy Haupt

Rank - Professor

Email - rhaupt@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3721

Kathryn Johnson

Kathryn Johnson

Rank - Professor

Email - kjohnson@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3914

Salman Mohagheghi

Salman Mohagheghi

Rank - Associate Professor

Email - smohaghe@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3501

Kevin Moore

Kevin Moore

Rank - Director, Mines Robotics Program
Executive Director, Humanitarian Engineering
Professor, Division of Engineering, Design, and Society
Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering

Email - kmoore@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3898

Payam Nayeri

Payam Nayeri

Rank - Assistant Professor

Email - pnayeri@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3960

Hisham Sager

Hisham Sager

Email - hsager@mines.edu

Phone - 303-384-2468

Tyrone Vincent

Tyrone Vincent

Rank - Professor

Email - tvincent@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3641

Michael Wakin

Michael Wakin

Rank - Professor

Email - mwakin@mines.edu

Phone - 303-273-3607

Resources

Our Home is Golden

See what it’s like to live in one of the country’s best small towns, with easy access to the great outdoors and the thriving hub that is Denver.

Quick Tour

From high above and on the ground, see what makes Colorado School of Mines, its campus and its people special.

Connecting to your Future

Mines students are top of the list for industry recruiters—find out what makes our grads special and how we help you on your journey.

Degree Options

Graduate Certificate

  • Data Science for Signals and Systems